Since the release of My Kinda Party in 2010, which included some of Jason Aldean’s greatest songs such as, Tattoos On This Town, Don’t You Wanna Stay, Fly Over States and Dirt Road Anthem, I wondered whether he could produce another album of the same standard, well… He has done it again!

Aldean’s newest album Night Train is well written and perfected by his iconic voice. The introductory track This Nothing Town starts immediately with a light riff with a strong beat in the background which leads into the fuller country rock sound. After just one play, this particular song remain stuck in my head.

The Only Way I Know features Luke Bryan and Eric Church, two of Aldean’s fellow CMA Male Vocalist nominees this year. It has a nice twist to it the majority of the song is rapped in a country sounding way which changes to singing throughout the chorus and other parts. The song is really punchy and really grasps your attention, Aldean, Bryan and Church’s voices really complement each other… it’s a great collaboration!

The whole album has a great flow and feel to it, Take A Little Ride was the lead single off this album and has proven to be a great success having already reached #1 in October. The title track Night Train is a slower, but still very powerful song really great lyrics the words ‘Night Train’ I feel mimic the sound of a train’s whistle which really adds to the flow of the song.

Black Tears, which has recently been reported to have been written about a stripper, is a very powerful song. Aldean has described the song as “…one of the most well-written songs on the album… hopefully people who are conservative about music will look past the subject matter and listen to what the lyrics are really saying.

Recommended Tracks:
This Nothing Town, 1994, Take A Little Ride

Track listing:

  1. This Nothin’ Town
  2. When She Says Baby
  3. Feel That Again
  4. Wheels Rollin’
  5. Talk
  6. The Only Way I Know (with Luke Bryan and Eric Church)
  7. Take A Little Ride
  8. I Don’t Do Lonely Well
  9. Night Train
  10. 1994
  11. Staring At The Sun
  12. Drink One For Me
  13. Black Tears
  14. Walking Away
  15. Water Tower

Overall for me this is a great album, thoroughly enjoyed listening.

UKCM Rating: 9/10

Where to Buy:
Night Train is currently available from AmazonUK